Snow Joke – my weather based phobia!

snow_symbols_203_203x152A little while ago I wrote a post about facing my fears. One of my biggest fears is snow and ice. I cannot bear it. I’m watching the weather forecast now and they’ve said it might snow this week. I’m already starting to feel sick.

I hate the snow and ice. I have a real fear of slipping and falling and hurting myself. I used to slip and fall and bounce. Then when I fell I started breaking things (mainly myself) and now since I’ve ruined my spine and had the operations, I’m terrified of falling and ending up in a wheelchair. It could happen.

For years I couldn’t leave the house when it snowed, I’d call in sick at work and just ride it out. Then I was given a pair of those ice grippers which genuinely changed my life and I could leave the house again. But I’m still frightened to go out, especially by myself. I know the chances of me falling are vastly reduced with the grippers, but if I’m out by myself there’s a real, genuine fear that I’ll topple over and really hurt myself.

If it doesn’t snow this week then it might happen next week. It’s pretty much guaranteed to happen at some point over the next few wintery months. The thought fills me with horror. No really. I know like half the nation I should dance with joy, get the sledge out and start building a snowman, but really that’s not for me.

You can keep your snow; you can keep your ice. I’ll stay inside and keep warm and safe if I can. I’m slowly getting my nerve up, it’s a vast improvement on where I used to be and how I used to panic at the very thought. I still feel sick though, horribly sick. It’s snow joke.

One response to “Snow Joke – my weather based phobia!

  1. You have written how I feel, I have arthritis and get that sick feeling you talk about, I worry about my son being in school in case I have to get him. I cannot walk out in snow & ice. Like you I will be obsessed with the weather forecast !
    take care x
    @nortonmum

Leave a Reply

